Shirin van Anrooij solos to victory

    Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (1:53), Marianne Vos (2:18) and Denise Betsema (2:28) color the top six further Dutch. Sanne Cant and Laura Verdonschot finished seventh and eighth at 2:44 and 3:17.

    Almost all the toppers were at the start of the Duinencross. World champion Marianne Vos, among others, made her comeback. Only Puck Pieterse, who was still partying in Herentals on Tuesday, was not present. Inge van der Heijden was the first to dive into the sand. Shirin van Anrooij, contrary to her habit, was also well off and the young poulain of Sven Nys’ team would soon take over command from her compatriot. Behind them a group formed with Fem Van Empel, who had bumped her knee during the warm-up, Marianne Vos, Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado and Lucinda Brand.

    Van Der Heijden had to slow down a bit, Van Anrooij had no measure. After one lap she had an eleven second lead over a group with Brand, Del Carmen Alvarado, Van Der Heijden and Van Empel. The world champion had to give up a little more time.

    In the second round, Van Anrooij continued to expand her lead, Van Empel got rid of her opponents and went looking for the leader. For a moment she seemed to come close in the penultimate lap, in which a number of doubles caused hindrance for the leader, but in the end she had to settle for second place.

    Brand retained the lead in the X2O Trophy. Van Empel approached to within 48 seconds with three motos to go. Del Carmen Alvarado is third at 1:17. Betsema, still leader after three rounds, dropped from second to fourth place and now has 1:54 to make up for.