News item | 18-11-2022 | 2:30 pm

    Anka Mulder, Jolanda Kluin and Vinod Subramaniam will become members of the Advisory Council for Science, Technology and Innovation (AWTI). The Council of Ministers has approved the nomination for appointment on the proposal of Minister Dijkgraaf of Education, Culture and Science. The appointment will take effect on 1 December 2022 for a period of four years.

    Three new councillors

    Anka Mulder is chair of the Executive Board of Saxion. Mulder studied history at the University of Groningen. She worked abroad for several years and started at Delft University of Technology in 2003. From 2013-2017 she was vice-chairman of the Executive Board and responsible for education and operational management. Since 2019, Mulder has also been a director of the Association of Universities of Applied Sciences with the following areas: research, digitization and SDGs.

    Jolanda Kluin is a cardiac surgeon. Kluin was educated at Erasmus University Rotterdam and Erasmus MC and obtained his PhD in Rotterdam. She has been working at the Cardiothoracic Surgery Department of Amsterdam UMC/AMC since 2015. Kluin is also Professor of Translational Cardiothoracic Surgery at the University of Amsterdam’s Faculty of Medicine. From 2006 to 2014 she worked at the UMC Utrecht. As of February 1, 2023, she will start as head of the Cardiothoracic Surgery department at Erasmus MC Rotterdam.

    Vinod Subramaniam is chairman of the Executive Board of the University of Twente. Subramaniam studied electrical engineering at Cornell University and received his PhD in applied physics. He then worked for various scientific institutes, such as the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Germany, with a foray into business at AstraZeneca. He was professor of nanobiophysics at the University of Twente and scientific director of the MIRA Institute for Biomedical Technology and Technical Medicine in Twente, now known as the TechMed Centre. He then became director of the FOM institute AMOLF and subsequently rector magnificus at the VU University Amsterdam.

    Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Board

    The AWTI is an independent advisory board of the government and parliament. The council consists of ten experts from the scientific world, the business community and civil society organisations. Together they provide independent advice on scientific, technological and innovative developments and related government policy. The advice of the AWTI is based on thorough research and practical experience. The council members are supported by council employees. With these recommendations, the AWTI makes it easier for the Dutch government to make policy choices so that science, technology and innovation can lead to even greater impact for Dutch society.