On November 30th, the best female athletes in the world will start the new World Cup season in biathlon. The Swedish squad is now set.

    Biathlon winter is fast approaching. The start of the new season will be given in Kontiolahti, Finland, at the end of November. After a long and intensive preparation, the winter sports stars are finally back to important World Cup points.

    In the past few days, there was still fighting within the respective nations for the starting places for the opening weekend. The decision has now been made in the Swedish team.

    The Öberg sisters Elvira and Hanna, as well as Linn Persson, had practically secured their place in the selection due to their strong performances from the previous season. Things got exciting behind the trio.

    National coach Johannes Lukas decided on Johanna Skottheim, Anna Magnusson and Stina Nilsson. “We have a strong team and have seen that the level is very high. It’s fun with a few new names. I’m really looking forward to the World Cup now,” the German coach told the Swedish newspaper “quickdrawsquoted.

    Biathlon Olympic champion is missing from the squad

    With Stina Nilsson, the Swedes are counting on the 2018 Olympic champion in the cross-country sprint. Since switching to biathlon for the 2020/21 season, the 29-year-old has only made it onto the podium once in an individual race. However, Nilsson is still sure of the confidence of national coach Lukas.

    Mona Brorsson, on the other hand, is missing from the Swedish squad. The 32-year-old won gold with the biathlon relay at the 2022 Winter Olympics. Brorsson was recently slowed down by the flu and will initially be competing in the IBU Cup.

    “It’s important for Mona to find a way back to a proper training block, so it’s the most natural step to see how she can compete again,” Lukas explained the decision.

    The Swedish squad for the biathlon opener:

    Ladies: Elvira Öberg, Hanna Öberg, Linn Persson, Johanna Skottheim, Anna Magnusson, Stina Nilsson

    Men’s: Martin Ponsiluoma, Sebastian Samuelsson, Jesper Nelin, Peppe Femling, Oskar Brandt, Emil Nykvist