Ballon d’Or feminine: Popp and Oberdorf nominated

The national team players Alexandra Popp and Lena Oberdorf can hope to win the Ballon d’Or feminin. Both belong to the list of candidates published by the French football magazine France Football on Friday. There are 20 players in total, including Spaniard Alexia Putellas, who won the 2021 award.

Three German internationals are among the candidates for the Kopa Trophy, which is awarded to the best U21 player of the year. Jamal Musiala from Bayern Munich, Florian Wirtz from Bayer Leverkusen and Karim Adeyemi from Borussia Dortmund are up for election. The Bundesliga is by far the best represented with six players among the ten nominees.

In addition to the three Germans, the Englishman Jude Bellingham (Dortmund), cup winner Josko Gvardiol (Croatia/RB Leipzig) and Bayern accessor Ryan Gravenberch (Netherlands) can also hope for the award. The top ten are completed by Frenchman Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Gavi (Spain/FC Barcelona), Bukayo Saka (England/FC Arsenal) and Nuno Mendes (Portugal/Paris St. Germain).

The goalkeepers are national keeper Manuel Neuer (Munich) and Eintracht Frankfurt’s Europa League hero Kevin Trapp. A total of ten candidates hope to win the Yashin trophy.