News item | 03-02-2023 | 4:00 pm

    The Council of Ministers has taken note with approval of the decision of Minister Bruins Slot of the Interior and Kingdom Relations to proceed with several appointments of members of the State Committee on the Rule of Law. It concerns the members Eva González Pérez, Corissa Abdoeljamil, Kutsal Yesilkagit, Ernst Numann, Kees Vendrik, Fatma Çapkurt, Diantha Vliet and Marc Hertogh.

    The State Committee on the Rule of Law was established in November 2022 under the chairmanship of Henk Kummeling. With the new appointments, the committee is complete. The commission will investigate the functioning of the legislative, judiciary and executive powers. In doing so, the Committee looks at these three powers separately as well as at their interdependence. Proper protection of citizens against government decisions and effective legal protection of citizens are important points of attention in this regard. The State Commission will present its advice to the cabinet before 1 June 2024.

    The committee arises from the report Unknown Injustice about the benefits affair. The report finds that the basic principles of the rule of law have been violated in the benefits affair and that citizens have been seriously trapped as a result. In response to this report, the House of Representatives has adopted a motion by MPs Omtzigt and Van Dam asking the government to set up a state commission to look into the functioning of the rule of law. Subsequently, the three state powers jointly determined the tasks of the State Committee on the Rule of Law.