DFB women before important games: Horst Hrubesch nominates newcomer Elisa Senß

As of: November 21, 2023 2:50 p.m

With three returnees and Elisa Senß, who was appointed for the first time, the German footballers go into the two decisive Nations League games under coach Horst Hrubesch.

In the groundbreaking games for the Olympic qualification, the DFB women’s goalkeeper Merle Frohms (VfL Wolfsburg) as well as Sydney Lohmann and Lina Magull (both Bayern Munich) are available again after injuries.

Senß is there for the first time, Oberdorf is missing

Interim national coach Hrubesch will have to do without Wolfsburg’s Lena Oberdorf (back problems) in the games on December 1st (8:30 p.m./ZDF) in Rostock against Denmark and four days later in Swansea against Wales (7:30 p.m./live stream at sportschau.de). Felicitas Rauch (toe injury).

Midfielder Elisa Senß from Bayer Leverkusen will be in the 24-man squad for the first time.

Hrubesch calls for an “important step towards the Olympics”

“The players have demonstrated in recent international matches what quality and potential they have. We created a lot of chances to score, but we have to make better use of them. That will be the deciding factor in the two games.”said Hrubesch: “Our goal is clear: We want to make these last two games of the year positive and take another important step towards the Olympics.”

Only as the Nations League group winner can the European vice champion play for the last two European starting places for Paris 2024 at the Final Four in February. The gap to leaders Denmark is three points; the German team lost the first leg 0-2.

The squad at a glance

Goal: Ann-Katrin Berger (FC Chelsea), Merle Frohms (VfL Wolfsburg), Stina Johannes (Eintracht Frankfurt
Defense: Sara Doorsoun, Sophia Kleinherne (both Eintracht Frankfurt), Giulia Gwinn (Bayern Munich), Marina Hegering, Kathrin Hendrich (both VfL Wolfsburg), Sarai Linder (TSG Hoffenheim)
Midfield/attack: Nicole Anyomi, Laura Freigang (both Eintracht Frankfurt), Jule Brand, Svenja Huth, Lena Lattwein, Alexandra Popp (all VfL Wolfsburg), Klara Bühl, Linda Dallmann, Sydney Lohmann, Lina Magull, Lea Schüller (all Bayern Munich), Sara Däbritz (Olympique Lyon), Paulina Krumbiegel (TSG Hoffenheim), Sjoeke Nüsken (FC Chelsea), Elisa Senß (Bayer Leverkusen)