Dirk van Duijvenbode (30) has reached the second round of the World Series of Darts Finals by hanging and strangling. He put Haupai Puha aside 6-5 in front of a noisy audience in AFAS Live in Amsterdam. Danny Noppert was Simon Whitlock the job, Vincent van der Voort had to recognize his superior in Matt Campbell.

    Van Duijvenbode had a difficult start and has to see how Puha got several chances to break in a 1-2 score. The cheering crowd seemed to take the New Zealander out of his concentration and the opportunities were not taken. Van Duijvenbode, to his own relief, saved his leg and then rumbled on to a 4-2 lead.

    The game seemed to be over for a while, but Puha fought back and even got a dart for the game at 4-5. The pressure from the noisy crowd seemed to be playing tricks on him again, as the double bull was missed by a large margin. Van Duijvenbode went up a gear and eventually won the match 6-5. The number 13 of the Order of Merit will face Gary Anderson in the second round on Saturday.

    Danny Noppert put Simon Whitlock aside. Also thanks to a 170 finish won The Freeze with the Australian 6-4.

    Van der Voort bowed to Matt Campbell in his first round. The Dutch Destroyer started well against the Canadian number 85 of the Order of Merit, but eventually had to admit his superiority with 3-6.

    World Series of Darts Finals in the Netherlands

    It is the third time that the World Series of Darts Finals will be held in the Netherlands. The first time in 2019 immediately became a memorable one in the Netherlands. Danny Noppert managed to advance to the final, in which he competed against Michael van Gerwen in a completely Dutch final. Mighty Mike eventually turned out to be a size too big for the Frisian with 11-2. It was the fourth time that Van Gerwen won the tournament. He also won the first three editions in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

    Michael van Gerwen

    Michael van Gerwen © Taylor Lanning/PDC

    Also last year, AFAS Live was the theater for the World Series of Darts Finals. Then the Dutch failed to make it to the final battle. Van Gerwen stranded in the semi-final against the Welshman Jonny Clayton, who eventually won in the final against the Belgian Dimitri Van den Bergh (11-6). This makes Clayton the defending champion in Amsterdam this year.

    Program and results World Series of Darts Finals

    Danny Baggish 5-6 Ryan Joyce
    Jamie Hughes 3-6 Dave Chisnall
    Gordon Mathers 3-6 Damon Heta
    Haupai Puha 5-6 Dirk van Duijvenbode
    Leonard Gates 6-4 Devon Petersen
    Fallon Sherrock 4-6 Peter Wright
    Matt Campbell 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
    Simon Whitlock 4-6 Danny Noppert

    Saturday, from 7 p.m. (second round):

    Dimitri van den Bergh (Bel) – Ryan Joyce (Eng)
    Gary Anderson (Sch) – Dirk van Duijvenbode
    Michael van Gerwen – Damon Heta (Aus)
    Jonny Clayton (Wal) – Simon Whitlock (Aus)/Danny Noppert
    Gerwyn Price (Wal) – Matt Campbell (Can)/Vincent van der Voort
    Joe Cullen (Eng) – Dave Chisnall (Eng)
    Michael Smith (Eng) – Peter Wright (Sch)
    James Wade (Eng) – Leonard Gates (US)