Winner ahead of Vlahović & Co.

    There is still a week to go before the start of the new Serie A season, which sees Italy’s top division side chasing reigning champions AC Milan with Rafael Leão, last season’s best player. This title is awarded to the 23-year-old attacking player after a vote by the Transfermarkt community.

    Leão won the election with 22.8 percent of the votes cast, succeeding previous award winner Romelu Lukaku. A year earlier, Ciro Immobile had secured the trophy. In total, over 1.2 million votes were cast in the 2021/22 Player of the Season election.

    Behind the Portuguese, Dušan Vlahović (Fiorentina/Juventus; 17.1 percent) and Leão’s teammate Theo Hernández (12.5 percent) finished on the podium. Milan professional Mike Maignan (11.6 percent) and Inter’s Lautaro Martínez (7.6 percent) complete the top 5 in the overall selection. Vice Vlahović switched from Fiorentina to Juventus in early 2022 for 81.6 million euros.

    Voted by TM users: winners of recent years with Mbappé, Naldo & Messi

    Kylian Mbappé – Paris Saint Germain

    &copy Mbappe/Transfermarkt/imago

    Ligue 1 2019/20

    &copy transfer market

    Bundesliga 2017/18 – Naldo with Transfermarkt founder Matthias Seidel

    Lionel Messi – Barcelona

    &copy TM/Lionel Messi

    LaLiga 2018/19

    Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich

    &copy TM/imago images

    Bundesliga 2020/21

    Bruno Fernandes Sporting Lisbon

    &copy Sporting Lisbon/TM

    League Portugal 2018/19

    Kai Havertz – Bayer Leverkusen

    &copy transfer market

    Bundesliga 2018/19

    Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City

    &copy Manchester City/imago/Transfermarkt

    Premier League 2019/20

    Ciro Immobile – Lazio Rome

    &copy SS Lazio/Transfermarkt/imago

    Serie A 2019/20

    Sofian Feghouli Galatasaray Istanbul

    &copy TM/imago images

    Super Lig 2018/19

    Burak Yilmaz – LOSC Lille

    &copy LOSC Lille/Transfermarkt

    Ligue 1 2020/21

    Hakim Ziyech – Ajax Amsterdam

    &copy transfer market

    Eredivisie 2019/20

    Dusan Tadic – Ajax Amsterdam

    &copy Ajax Amsterdam/TM

    Eredivisie 2020/21

    Simon Mignolet – Club Brugge

    &copy TM/FC Brugge

    Jupiler Pro League 2020/21

    Leão with an impressive increase in market value since 2019 – thanks via Instagram

    Champion Leão, who was signed from Lille in 2019 for €29.5m and has since almost quintupled his market value (€15m at the time) since then, justified first place in the TM vote with eleven goals and ten assists in 34 league games. With this result, the right-footer and nine-time Portuguese international is one of the top 10 scorers of the past season. “Thank you for this gift,” Leão says happily via Instagram about his TM award.

    To home page