Final 4:4 after extra time

    The TM database has been enriched by another milestone: The 2018/19 season of the Maltese FA Trophy can be called up with all game reports. Balzan FC clinched the title, the only one in the club’s history, on penalties 9-8 against 13-time cup winners Valletta FC.

    After 120 minutes, goals from cup top scorer Alfred Effiong (photo; 8th, 44th, 95th, 104th) and Enmy Peña (40th, 72nd), Mario Fontanella (115th) and Rowen scored Muscat (119th) 4: 4 conceded. Balzan keeper Sean Mintoff saved the decisive penalty from Valletta’s Nicolas Pulis.

    With ex-Lauterer Michael Mifsud and long-time Paderborner Jens Wemmer, two well-known professionals from Germany were also active in the 2018/19 Maltese cup competition. Mifsud scored three goals in four games for semi-finalists Birkirkara FC while Wemmer struck once in three games for quarter-finalists Tarxien Rainbows.

    Have you noticed any mistakes in the game reports? Are we still missing one or the other piece of information? As a registered user, you can send corrections to the corresponding game reports yourself and thus have a direct influence on the quality of the database. You can find brief instructions on data maintenance here:

    To home page