After 38 years of waiting, Trabzonspor sensationally won the football championship in the Süper Lig in Turkey.

    The team from the port city on the Black Sea had led the standings without interruption since the ninth game day and now completed the triumph three games before the end: After the 2: 2 (1: 0) against Antalyaspor on Saturday, Trabzon can no longer start from the first place be ousted.

    The lead over big club Fenerbahce Istanbul is nine points, and Trabzonspor has also won the direct comparison, which will be decisive in the event of a tie.

    Led by former Napoli star and playmaker Marek Hamsik, coach Abdullah Avci’s side clinched their first league title since 1983/84 and seventh overall.

    Since 1985, only two clubs in Bursaspor (2009/10) and Istanbul Basaksehir (2019/20) had managed to interrupt the title collection of the Istanbul top clubs Besiktas, Fenerbahce and Galatasaray.