We have collected for you all known details about Metallica’s record 72 SEASONS, which is scheduled for release on April 14, 2023. The single “Lux Æterna” was already released on Monday (November 28th).

    The “hard facts” about the album

    The record will be 77 minutes long and contain 12 songs, produced by Greg Fidelman along with James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich. After HARDWIRED…TO SELF-DESTRUCT (2016), 72 SEASONS is the eleventh studio work.

    James Hetfield on the production: “72 SEASONS. The first 18 years of our lives, during which our true or false self-image is shaped. The thought that it was our parents who told you ‘who you are’. Which drawers could be possible and suitable for the personality you have. What I find really exciting is how this examination of one’s own basic beliefs affects the way in which we perceive the world around us today. Because much of what we experience as adults is either a repetition or a reaction to those same childhood experiences. Prisoners of one’s childhood – or liberation from the shackles we wear.”

    Metallica’s 72 SEASONS Track Listing

    1. 72 seasons
    2. Shadow’s Follow
    3. screaming suicide
    4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
    5. You Must Burn!
    6. Lux Æterna
    7. Crown of Barbed Wire
    8. Chasing Light
    9. If Darkness Had a Son
    10. Too Far Gone?
    11. Room of Mirrors
    12. Inamorata

    That could be the title “Lux Æterna”.

    Translated from Latin, the title means “eternal light”. For this reason, especially pieces that commemorated deceased people were given this title. Perhaps Hetfield remembers with “Lux Æterna‘ to his mother Cynthia, who died of cancer in 1980. At that time, the singer was only 16 years old and Metallica was still a little way off.

    Here is the first single and music video:

    Metallica 2023/2024 on “M72” tour

    The formation goes on tour in 2023 and 2024 – and gives a double concert in each city with two different set lists and support line-ups. With their show, the musicians want to offer the audience a new stage concept in which the Metallica snake pit is moved to the middle of the stage. The “I Disappear” ticket will also grant access to multiple Metallica shows in different cities.

    Two-day tickets are available from Friday (December 2nd) among others here. Day tickets are available from January 20th. Every information is here.


    • May 26th: Hamburg, Volksparkstadion*
    • May 28: Hamburg, Volksparkstadion**


    • May 24: Munich, Olympic Stadium*
    • May 26: Munich, Olympic Stadium**

    *Support Show 1: Architects and Mammut WVH
    **Support Show 2: Five Finger Death Punch & Ice Nine Kills

    PayPal priority tickets:
    Wed, November 30, 2022, 4:00 p.m. (online presale, 41 hours)

    MagentaMusik Priority Tickets:
    Wed, November 30, 2022, 4:00 p.m. (online presale, 41 hours)

    Ticketmaster pre-sale:
    Thursday, December 1st, 2022, 9:00 a.m. (online presale, 24 hours)

    General advance sales start – 2-day tickets:
    Fri., 02.12.2022, 09:00 a.m