Tomorrow is the traditional New Year’s match between the ex-internationals and former players of Royal HFC. Frank de Boer (captain), Glenn Helder, Aron Winter and Richard Witschge, among others, will appear at the kick-off. Ajax legend Sjaak Swart is the trainer of the ex-players.

    The selection for the women was already known before Christmas. Desiree van Lunteren, Daphne Koster and Leonne Stentler, among others, are participating. National coach of the Oranje Leeuwinnen, Andries Jonker, will sit on the bench with his entire staff to coach.

    With the men it was still exciting until the end, but now there is white smoke. Arno Splinter and Olaf Lindenbergh are participating for the first time, but never played in the Orange squad.

    This is the full selection:

    Frank de Boer (captain)
    Daryl Janmate
    Glen Clear
    Eljero Elijah
    Andwele Slory
    Aaron Winter
    Richard Witschge
    Sander Westerveld (goalkeeper)
    Romano Denneboom
    Martin Reuser
    Orlando Angel
    John Van ‘t Ship
    Simon Tamata

    Reuben Chess
    Danny Koevermans
    Arno Splinter
    Olaf Lindenbergh

    View a summary of the last edition of the New Year’s competition in 2020 below: