Danny Noppert to eighth finals, Jelle Klaasen close to stunt, Maik Kuivenhoven no chance against former world champion | Darts

Later tonight, Michael van Gerwen, who was sent home disillusioned after one game on Thursday at the Premier League match night in Ahoy, will come into action. Dirk van Duijvenbode and Raymond van Barneveld also appear at the oche in the evening session. Barney defeated Brendan Dolan 6-3 in the first round yesterday. Van Gerwen and Van Duijvenbode skipped the opening round, just like Noppert.

Noppert was constantly in control against Dobey. In the fourth leg he placed a break for a 3-1 lead. Dobey, who is nicknamed Hollywood and is 21st in the world rankings, came back to 4-4, but then Noppert struck and won with a double twenty.

Noppert recorded an average of almost 96, compared to Dobey’s 91.55. The finish percentages: forty percent for Noppert and fifty percent for Dobey. Tomorrow afternoon, Noppert will face Englishman Nathan Aspinall for a place in the quarterfinals.

(text continues below the tweet)

Jelle Klaasen was just unable to pull off a stunt against Jonny Clayton at the Austrian Darts Open. The Dutchman, 132nd in the world ranking, bowed in the second round in a decisive leg The Ferretthe number seven in the world: 5-6.

Yesterday was Klaasen, that as a nickname The Cobra has, in the first round in Graz, Austria, too strong for William O’Connor (38th in the world ranking). Even then a decisive eleventh leg was needed.

(text continues below the tweet)

For Maik Kuivenhoven, the Austrian Darts Open is also over. The Dutchman, who won Bradley Brooks (6-5) in the first round yesterday, was no match for Rob Cross, the 2018 world champion: 2-6.

Kuivenhoven came against Cross, who gave up a match at a floor tournament last week because he would ‘no longer feel like it’, no further than an average of 73.86, significantly lower than that of Cross (95.70).

Afternoon session
Andrew Gilding – Matt Campbell 6-4
Josh Rock – Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2
Dave Chisnall – Mickey Mansell 2-6
Damon Heta – Luke Woodhouse 6-4
Rob Cross – Maik Kuivenhoven 6-2
Joe Cullen – Nick Kenny 6-2
Nathan Aspinall – Hannes Schnier 6-2
Jonny Clayton – Jelle Klaasen 6-5

Evening session (from 7:05 PM)
Danny Noppert – Chris Dobey 6-4
Dirk van Duijvenbode – Ryan Meikle
Ryan Searle – Raymond van Barneveld
Peter Wright – Mensur Suljovic
Luke Humphries – Daryl Gurney
Michael Smith – Ricardo Pietreczko
Michael van Gerwen – John Henderson
Martin Schindler – Simon Whitlock